FY 23 SWVHEC Annual Report


FY 2023

Pictured L-R: Karen Shelton, Sophie Chafin Vance, Shannon Blevins, Senator Todd Pillion, Delegate Israel O’Quinn, Adam Hutchison, Lennie Gail Mitcham, Steve Ahn, Donna Stanley, Susan Short, Charlie Jewell, Scott Kemp

The Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center is governed by a Board of Trustees that includes six members of the Virginia General Assembly; eight university presidents; two Agency Heads, and seven citizen members appointed by the Governor. The Executive Director/Agency Head of the Higher Education Center reports to the Board of Trustees and the Virginia Secretary of Education. The Board of Trustees meets twice a year, generally in June and December. Legislative Members: Senator Todd E. Pillion, 40th District; Senator T. Travis Hackworth, 38th District; Delegate James W. (Will) Morefield, 3rd District; Delegate Israel D. O’Quinn, 5th District; Delegate Sam Rasoul, 11th District; Delegate Jason S. Ballard, 12th District Citizen Members: Esther W. Bolling, Wise, VA; Keith Perrigan, Bristol, VA; Sophia Chafin Vance, Lebanon, VA; Karen Shelton, Bristol, VA; Lennie Gail Mitcham, Abingdon, VA; Steve Ahn, Damascus, VA; Hannah Ingram, Abingdon, VA Higher Education Members: Timothy Sands, President, Virginia Tech; John W. Wells, President, Emory & Henry College; Brian O. Hemphill, President, Old Dominion University; Bret Danilowicz, President, Radford University; James E. Ryan, President, University of Virginia; Donna Henry, Chancellor, University of Virginia’s College at Wise; Adam Hutchison, President, Virginia Highlands Community College; Michael Rao, President, Virginia Commonwealth University; Peter Blake, Director, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia; Donna Stanley, Chancellor Appointed, Virginia Community College System; Ex-Officio: David Olive, President, Bluefield University


Made with FlippingBook - Online Brochure Maker