Association’s Board of Directors, including Rebecca Bentley Hall (’86), Morgan Lloyd (’13), Howard Mayo (’88), LeAnn Lane Montgomery (’05), Zachary Smith (’08), and Sarah Wheeler (’93). The Alumni Board also thanked departing members Violet Meade (’53) and Daniel Schroeder (’10) for their service. In addition, the Board acknowledged outgoing alumni director Mark Hipes (’03) for his work for the school and introduced incoming alumni director Josh Grubb (’07). Day two of Homecoming weekend also included the traditional Scholarship Auction. Under the direction of local auctioneer Eric Crawford of Twin City Auctions, alumni and friends offered up live bids and purchased 122 donated items to the tune of $11,107 — all for the BC Fund for Scholarships. After the auction, alumni took part in campus tours, seeing for the first time BC’s new Bluestone Commons apartment complex and a recently renovated Harman Chapel, among other facilities. Later in the day, alumni made their way to Mitchell Stadium for tailgating and Rams football, a new mainstay event for Homecoming. The tailgating fun featured the Third Annual Homecoming Tailgate Challenge, sponsored by Food City of Bluefield. The winner of this year’s coveted championship banner as the best Homecoming tailgate: alumnus Kris Hardy (‘07). After tailgating, alumni and friends watched the Rams football team make history with a 17-6 Homecoming victory over the Apprentice School, the first home win since BC revived its football program in 2012 after a 70-year hiatus. During the game, current BC students crowned the 2015 Homecoming Court, including Delaini Middlebrooks as Homecoming Queen, David White as Homecoming King, Whitney Browning as Junior Princess, Alexandra Mocarski as Sophomore Princess, and Channel Flores as Freshman Princess. Day two concluded with a Student Homecoming Dance and an Alumni Awards Dinner-Dance where Dr. Tim Sharp (’74) received a BC Hall of Distinguished Graduates distinction, Dr. Jennifer Jones Powell (’93) was named Alumna of the Year, Dr. Wayne Massey (’59) took home the Primitivo Delgado Christian Service Award, and BC friend Steve Bickford was named an Honorary Alumnus. In addition, longtime men’s basketball and baseball coach Mark Blevins and three of his former men’s basketball players, Dan Brown (’85), Howard Mayo (’88), and Lamont Woods (’92) were all inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame. The three-day Homecoming weekend concluded with a Campus/Community Worship Service, featuring music and worship provided by the newly planted campus church, Highlands Fellowship.

Top: Homecoming Queen Delaini Middlebrooks (right) and Homecoming King David White. Middle: The new Alumni Board: (back, left to right) Morgan Lloyd (’13), Zachary Smith (’08), Howard Mayo (’88), (front, left to right) LeAnn Lane Montgomery (’05), and Rebecca Bentley Hall (’86). Not pictured: Sarah Wheeler (’93). Bottom: Alumnus Kris Hardy (‘07) (second from left), the 2015 Homecoming Tailgate Champion.


Made with